Weird & Awesome Comic Book Ads of 1995!

And so, a new year slowly begins to approach on us. Rather than consider this year and all its brought, let’s continue to discuss things from nearly two dedades ago and talk about how they’re superior to all other decades, no exceptions. Yes, this sounds like a good plan!

So, lately, what I’ve been doing is collecting ads from random comic books I’ve kept on my hard drive, pasting them to MSPaint, saving them, and then compressing the .pngs to make a collection of whatever advertisements I can find. The comics are OK, I suppose, but for me, it’s the ads that are the interesting part. They’re basically the perfect time capsule of the 90’s, and as you have hopefully figured out by now, that’s kind of my thing. The comics themselves aren’t really all that special, although I came across a Freakazoid/Animaniacs crossover, which I should probably properly document sometime.

Yep. The perfect time capsule.

Yep. The perfect time capsule.

So, here are some of the ads from the year 1995 I think are the most interesting, notable, or hilarious.

Advanced Dungeons & Dragons

As somebody who’s dabbling in tabletop role playing games and such, I have to admit it’s kind of interesting seeing stuff like this in an Animanics comic. Kind of confusing, too. I’m honestly not sure who they were marketing these comics toward, because I can imagine there’s no way most kids would sit around long enough to play an average game of D&D. However, I could imagine the neckbeardy, Usenet-surfing type of fans the show loved to make fun of so much would… were THOSE what this comic was marketed towards? Curious…

Apokololips Dark Uprising

There are also a ton of comic book ads in here, which, to be fair, makes logical sense. I didn’t grab all of them, just the ones I thought were personally hilarious to me. Like this one. “Wow wait what are you guys doing with my giant head you guys stooooooooop”

Clearasil

And here we’ve got another example of the marketing either not knowing their audience enough, or knowing them entirely too well.

Nerf

And here’s a somewhat normal ad for once, although I’m curious. Given all the ads for contest that show up in these things, I’m wondering. Did anybody ever actually win any of these things? Maybe this is just me being totally jealous and wishing I could win even ONE of these silly contests, but I have to imagine that you wouldn’t get nearly as much as stuff as this kid, or maybe they’d tax you out the ass for it, or maybe it’ll all wear out or get lost in a few months.

…Nah, still jealous. And from that same issue…

Mallrats

All right, I’ve never seen this movie, but I’d like to think that any movie involving “topless fortune telling” probably wouldn’t be the best choice for a good portion of the Animaniacs watching audience. I’m just saying.

So, that’s all for now, but I’ve got plenty more ads. This isn’t even all the ads from 1995, and I’ve got a collection stretching all the way to 2001. Which means I can basically post these for months! Woohoo! …Nah, I wouldn’t do that. Would I?

Leave a Reply

